August 3, 2011

Last night Kelly and I went out for dinner and each had a glass of wine.  She only had half, I the full glass.  Every time I go out now, I wonder at what point would I be considered over the limit?  In years past it was never even a consideration and in the last couple of years, I would just try to pace myself and not drink but 1-2 drinks an hour… but it would be over several hours and, if I’m with friends, at some point I would stop thinking about it.  Today, the thought is in my head every time I take a drink.  Even if I’m having a drink at home, I have to consider if I will need to drive in the next few hours… The mental consumption of the idea of a DUI has overtaken the physical consumption and the enjoyment of social drinking….

Leave a Reply

